Lulu Devine


 
There is something disconcerting about the onset of autumn. It's a beautiful time of year, with trees turning from green to gold to red and sunsets becoming more spectacular, but the transition from summer always manages to catch me unawares.

This is, clearly, nonsensical. It's not as if we don't know the new season is coming; unlike a piano falling onto a cartoon character's head, it doesn't appear out of nowhere and knock us flat. Yet one hint of autumnal conditions and we Brits (not that I am, fully, having Austrian blood in my veins) do our favourite thing of all by talking about the weather. Obsessively.

I suppose it has been bizarre lately. It was so hot on Sunday that there were girls in bikinis on the beach. Yes, bikinis, in October. And today, we have a northeasterly wind blasting the city with a bite so sharp it feels like it could crumble one's skeleton. Which is why, having ventured out for the newspaper this morning, I then decided that staying in for the morning while the temperature struggled to raise itself a bit was entirely justified, not least with The Bump to think about.

Truth to tell, The Bump is not yet noticeable. Four months into my pregnancy and everything looks flat as a pancake. Except, needless to say, to me. Whenever I pass a mirror I glance sideways and am convinced that there is, at last, a visible swell of the belly. But as my darling husband points out, there simply isn't.

All of which means I can still wear whatever I please without recourse to looser, larger mid-maternity wear, or at least I could were it not suddenly so cold beyond the cosy apartment. This, I admit, is a relief, for whilst I have no first-time-birth fears of the pains of childbirth, I dread the weeks when I have to swathe myself in clothing so large and floaty it would prove highly effective attached to the mast of a yacht.

But The Bump is being kind and not manifesting itself. Five months still to go however, and my health visitor chirpily declared last week, 'Oh, I'm sure you'll balloon in the belly soon!' Which sent me scurrying for chocolate, on the basis that if she's going to say such things and cause me to seek comfort food then I may as well not worry about how I'll look when The Bump eventually expands...
Manhattan Musician
10/11/2010 09:14:10 pm

You know perfectly well that you'll still look chic and elegant and gorgeous even when The Bump decides to spring a sudden appearance on you.

And yes, I am posting under the name Manhattan Musician, since as that's how I'm referred to in your blog (and thank you for your discretion - nicely and considerately thought out) I might as well! A great read, Ms Devine!

Reply
Lulu Devine
10/13/2010 08:16:03 pm

Oh, my little Musician, you're too kind! But hopefully also right...

Reply
Martin Seaman
10/13/2010 08:56:50 pm

Heres a way to include your husband even more then he no doubt already is. Before the bump shows, than expands, find out from women with similar skin type who have had a baby what cream or oil, not just diet, can work to decrease stretch marks. In the last 6 - 8 weeks before Miss Maree was born me applying an oil soothed both mother and baby

Reply
Manhattan Musician
10/14/2010 07:23:39 pm

Someone doesn't do lighthearted then! And knowing Lulu as I do, you're doing the old 'teaching your grandmother to suck eggs' thing there.

Which makes me wonder why anyone's granny would be sucking eggs. Surely easier just to crack them and fry them? Or poach them. Poached eggs are so yummy...

Reply
Billy Kevick
10/14/2010 09:49:31 pm

Chocolate for The Bump, and why not?

Another hugely entertaining read, Lulu. Thanks for all the smiles and laughs!

Reply
4/25/2012 10:56:34 am

wearing a pair of <a href="http://www.2012sunglasses.com/oakley-sunglasses-c-11.html">Oakley sunglasses for men </a> can make a men more cool.which brand and where can buy a better sunglasses for men? The Oakley a be one you can consider .you can go to our website and have a look ,There may new styles of <a href="http://www.2012sunglasses.com/oakley-sunglasses-c-11.html">Oakley sunglasses for men</a> .whoever want to buy <a href="http://www.2012sunglasses.com/oakley-sunglasses-c-11.html">Cheap oakley sunglasses </a> in high qualites , our website should be your best choice .

Reply
Louboutin sale
5/9/2012 06:39:57 pm

<a href="http://www.christian-louboutins.co.uk">Louboutin sale</a> is convinced that human fitness and fashion are significantly influenced by the way we walk. Our Louboutin Sale Shoes are made in durable materials.The Louboutin Sale with high quality but lower price.All orders here enjoying Safe Shopping, and Fast Door To Door Delivery.

Reply
5/22/2012 10:17:08 pm

Louboutin's first doll contains a Parisian look from head over to toe in an wholly black outfit. If NASCAR can be your passion, then the Daytona 500 Experience is actually a dream come true Christian louboutin store.

Reply
5/30/2012 06:37:14 pm

Fortunately, the sky is not high, the discount oakley sunglasses body but also powerful, a drop to the ground with the roll to eliminate the impact, immediately get up and ran toward Jiugong urn of gold in the past. Feathering their disciples "? Black light! Not ordinary demons, a devil!", "My God is the devil!" A few disciples, and was able to escape devil men lives, it is powerful. "

Reply
5/31/2012 08:15:56 pm

Nine manipulate the urn's fake, oakleys, and looked suddenly easy. Originally demons on the battlefield assessment are disciples of the outer door, but this sudden appearance of misfortune, so martial art to send a fake oakleys come in, help the assessment of the disciples to ride out the storm, they can get the martial art award. Nine of you, the guardian of the disciples of these assessment meritorious, I reward you a 'six decades, Great Dane', you can increase your life span of six decades. "

Reply



Leave a Reply.